Let It Go and Just Be

“Your peace is more important than driving yourself crazy trying to understand why something happened the way it did.  Let it go.” — Mandy Hale

Just when you think you have life all figured out, shit hits the fan and you have to take the lessons learned and move on.  Armed with more knowledge than yesterday and not as much as I will have tomorrow; I choose to live in the moment.  Running has certainly provided me with valuable tools with which to accomplish living in the moment and continue to put one foot in front of the other.  But, it’s not always easy and sometimes I lean on my love of music to help keep those feet moving forward and work through all those feelings that sometimes creep up.

Living in the moment is tough.  At mile one of a race you feel on top of the world, you are cruising and feeling a PR is well within your grasp.  My jam for the early miles might be “Tonight’s Gonna Be a Good Night” by Black Eyed Peas.  But, one must maintain focus and not look ahead.  Stay in the moment.  Stay in the mile you are in.  My feet are carried by the songs on my playlist, each specifically chosen for the memories they bring to mind.  Life’s moments are connected to songs that have the ability to distract, amuse, comfort, encourage and sometimes even bring a tear to my eye.  “Fighter” by Christina Aguilera, for example, is a “get your game face on and take no shit from anyone” song.  When legs are screaming with the burning pain in those last few miles this song reminds me that I’m a tough chick with the ability to power through.

When life has me reeling with feelings I cannot process I lace up the shoes, earbuds in and run.  Running provides a platform to experience ‘all the feels’ and a space to just be.  Somehow by the end of the run my mind is clearer and I feel ready to tackle the next obstacle.

Leave a Reply

