And So It Begins. . . Again

Week One of Marathon Training for Marshall completed!  I completed all runs on the schedule and included an extra couple miles to my easy days.  Recap below for those interested in that kind of thing:

Monday – Plan 3E; Actual 5E of hills (9:45 pace)

Tuesday – Plan 3M Pace (target 8:30-8:45 min/mi); Actual 3M @ 8:26 pace

Wednesday – Plan 3E; Actual 5E (10:51 pace)

Thursday – Plan 30min Tempo (target 8-8:15 pace); Actual 3.27M with 7:59 pace for the middle 10 mins

Friday – REST

Saturday – Plan 5E; Actual 5E (9:50 pace)

Sunday – Plan 11LSD; Actual 11LSD (9:53 pace)

I’m pretty happy with how the week played out.  My focus is going to be keeping my paces in check.  Easy runs should be in the 9:30-10:30 range. Tempo runs around 8min/mi, which is a bit fast according to my V-Dot, but I ran this week based on feel and it feels right.  Pace runs are a bit trickier.  This week as I mentioned in a previous post, it was a bit cooler, so I went faster.  Based on my V-Dot, I should be running these around 9min/mi.  This is 40 seconds slower than my GMP (8:20) and it scares me to not push this pace a bit faster for right now.  I want to know what my goal pace feels like and trying to hit it or close to it seems like a good idea.  As long as I don’t overdo it too much and am honest with how the pace feels, I think I’ll be okay.  Considering the heat and humidity, I think effort is going to be more important than pace for much of July and August.  I know I was working pretty hard during my 11 miles on Sunday.  It certainly felt like I was going faster at times than what my Garmin was saying.  I’ll be trying to keep this in mind when getting too wrapped up in the numbers.  But, who am I kidding?  I’m a numbers geek and with a watch on my wrist that is spitting out data at me, it is far too tempting to make it say what I want it to.  Looking forward to Week 2!

2 thoughts on “And So It Begins. . . Again

Leave a Reply

