Training vs. Funning

When I first began my running journey, I was a lone runner.  Occasionally, my sister and I would get together for long runs, but mostly we trained separately for our first half marathon and then our first marathon.  My fuel for my training came from some personal issues I was working through and the sheer fear of dying (literally) if I didn’t “stick to the plan.”  This resulted in my fastest marathon to date – 3:45:30.  Of course, I’ve yet to come close to that time since.  Why you might ask?  Well, a couple times I put in the work and Mother Nature had other plans – Nashville 2010 and Chicago 2010.  After giving a BQ another go at Marshall 2010 (a month after Chicago), I chose to hang up the BQ hopes for a bit and pursue some ultra running and try to get back to the “fun” that I loved about the sport.

Enter in “funning,” the term that combines fun and running.  I joined a few group runs and learned quickly that I enjoyed the social aspect of running.  Run chats were so much more enjoyable that near puke inducing intervals.  My times didn’t suffer too bad and my mileage crept up as well.  I loved sharing my joy of running with other like minded people and I inadvertently created friendships with so many people I would have probably never met.  Each April though as I watch and track friends running Boston, I long to be there.  I vow to put in the work, but I get sucked back into “funning” instead of training with a purpose.  I know I can get by and finish marathons with decent times, but I want more.

I feel a bit guilty missing out on “funning” with friends, but I know I’m going to have to stick to what I know works for me in order to BQ.  Focus on pace and putting in the hard miles needs to be more important than hitting the trails for leisurely miles.  Keeping an easy recovery pace is also going to be a focus to keep my legs happy and ready to be workhorses on “fast” days.  Until November 1st, I need to put my focus on reaching my goal and leave the “funning” behind for a bit.  It’s not going to be easy, but (hopefully) it will be worth it.  So, if you are one of my “funning” friends that miss sharing miles with me, I apologize in advance for my absence, but I’ll be back “funning” again soon.

Training Update:

Last night’s pace run – 3 Miles – 8:31, 8:31 and 8:16; tougher than I’d hope it would feel and faster than I really should be running given my current fitness, but I wanted to take advantage of the temps in the 60s to see what my ultimate GMP-ish pace will feel like.  Yikes!  I have a ton of work ahead of me!

3 thoughts on “Training vs. Funning

Leave a Reply

